Netanyahu: We will not give up on the hopes of reconciliation with our enemies

PM speaks at ceremony marking Israel’s national memorial day for its fallen; Netanyahu: We will not lose hope of reconciling with our enemies, but we will first and foremost make peace amongst us.

Prime Minister Netanyahu (AP)

Prime Minister Netanyahu gave a speech at the Yad Labanim’s Memorial Day ceremony Tuesday evening, marking the beginning of Israel’s national Day of Remembrance for the Fallen Soldiers of Israel and Victims of Terrorism. His speech was given ahead of the 8:00 pm sirens which will designate a moment of silence for Israel’s 23,447 fallen.

Addressing the attendees of the ceremony, he spoke of his personal loss, that of his brother Yoni Netanyahu, who fell in action during Operation Entebbe in Uganda in 1967. He stated “As the son of a bereaved family, I like you carry the burden of grief, falling into the abyss of sadness. When I received the news about my brother, and after that when I relayed it to my parents, my entire world collapsed on me. The same thing happened to you.”

He went on to state “There is no one here who has not lost a son, brother, father, husband, friend, daughter; there is no one who has not cried ‘why?’ I can testify that I asked the same question when my brother fell, but with the passage of time I realized that it is necessary to ask why.”

Addressing the State of Israel’s loss and ongoing threats to its existence, he stated “Life in this generation of rebirth exacts a heavy personal and national price, but the spirit of our people is strong. We will continue standing firm against our enemies, building our country and ensuring our revival. We will not lose hope of reconciling with our enemies, but we will first and foremost make peace amongst us.”

On Wednesday morning at 11:00 am, a two-minute siren will be heard through out all of Israel remembering Israel’s fallen. Ceremonies and programs will continue through out the day until Wednesday evening when Israel will celebrate its 68 years of independence.